2017 Buchanan Cup

For more than a quarter of a century Ohio Theta has been recognized by the Grand Chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon with the Buchanan Outstanding Chapter Award (Buc-Cup). The chapter has maintained this legacy for 30 years in a row, having received their 15th consecutive Buchanan Cup at the Grand Chapter Conclave in Orlando, Florida on August 3, 2017 . Our Ohio Theta undergraduates recognize that the Bearcat SigEps have been winning this honor long before they were even born… They are excellent stewards of our beloved Ohio Theta.

Ohio Theta has won a Buchanan Cup in 1961, 1963, 1969, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015 and 2017. This has continued our chapter’s legacy of having the longest winning streak in the Fraternity’s recent history; placing the chapter in the top three off all time recipients, with 18 overall Buchanan Cups in our 64 year history. Ohio Theta is the only chapter who has continued to win Gold Buchanan Cups since they were started in 2003!

The generations that have come before us must be acknowledged for building a solid foundation… From the men of the Iota Chi Epsilon who proudly proclaimed in the 1949 petition to Sigma Phi Epsilon “…It is then with great pride in past achievement and with expectations for an even greater development, that we respectfully petition for membership in Sigma Phi Epsilon”… To the six Ohio Theta brothers who have received the Fraternity’s highest honor, the Order of the Golden Heart… To all the alumni who give of their time, talents, and treasures to make sure we’re providing our undergraduate brothers with the best SigEp experience possible.

About Buchanan Cups